City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk

4.5
115 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Wine Bar
NOW ACCEPTING SPRING 2019 RIVER DOME RESERVATIONS!

Available March 20 - May 5

River Dome reservations accommodate groups of 2 - 8 and provide you & your guests 2.5 hours in this intimate, climate controlled, one-of-a-kind setting along the Chicago Riverwalk. All dome reservations are approximately $85/guest - including a $25 non-refundable rental fee per person, and a $60 food and beverage minimum spend per guest. Please note: all river dome guests must be 21 or older.

**Announcing Spring 2019 Lunch Special! Book your dome experience to begin between 11:30AM and 1PM Monday - Thursday for half off food & beverage minimums! Enter “lunch special” in your reservation notes to redeem. Offer limited to reservations for Monday - Thursday beginning no later than 1 PM. Additional restrictions may apply. **

We are, unfortunately, unable to accept reservations outside of our river domes at this time. Please note that all other space is available on a first-come-first-served basis.
What 115 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
A
Chicago
10 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 5

The food was below mediocre. It’s over priced and not worth the price to have a meal in a heated dome. It’s a D+.

Report
Helpful
LO
Chicago
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 5

This was the perfect place for a date. Our server was very friendly; the dome was cute and private while allowing you to people watch.
The food was ok but the drinks were really good. All in all I would definitely return!

City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk
Responded 5 hours ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, LatriciaO! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 'dome away from home' and certainly hope you'll join us again soon - be it on our patio under the summer sun, or in a dome next fall! Cheers, Cassidy Service Director

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on April 14, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

This was such a unique experience. You have a private experience with all of the restaurant perks.

City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for your kind review, Anonymous! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and will hope to host you again soon - in another river dome, or on our patio under the summer sun! Cheers, Cassidy Service Director

Report
Helpful
KB
Chicago
1 review
Dined on April 10, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

We absolutely loved our lunch in the dome. A few minutes after we arrived it began to hail. It was magical being in a warm cozy spot amidst all the hail. Service was excellent and the dome had everything we needed. Blankets, pillows, everything for eating, even a speaker to hook up for music. We will return!

Report
Helpful
SO
1 review
Dined on April 8, 2019
Overall 3food 1service 2ambience 3

The ambiance was great. I love the idea of sitting in a bubble with a glass of wine and my own music. The service was slow and the menu items (of which we tried several) were not very good at all... Don't go there for the food.

Report
Helpful
LP
1 review
Dined on April 8, 2019
Overall 4food 1service 5ambience 4

The experience was great. But the food wasn’t.
It was expensive and we expected more from the food. The potato soup did not taste good. The paté was very strong and not good.
But the place is good and clean.

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 4

Terrible.
The service was ok.
The food, sparse
The actual size of these globes are so small they should never say it fits 8 people. It was laughable.

Report
Helpful
CB
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2019
Overall 3food 1service 4ambience 4

It was a nice experience, but to dine in a definite no the food portions were small for the bucks not much food options to choose from and furniture was not comfortable some seats were broken.

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

A group of 7 of us got together for a birthday celebration. The service was phenomenal and extremely attentive. The igloo we were in was a little tight for 7 folks and the shareable platters were pretty standard. It was an experience and no real complaints!

Report
Helpful
s
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

We had a 4:30pm dome rental at City Winery Chicago. The menu was limited and we were disappointed in the service. There is a $25 per person per dome fee and a $60 minimum charge per person for our two hour rental. So right out of the gate our bill was $340. Please double check the menu... our menu was different than the one on open table and was limited. Cassidy was helpful in resolving some issues and we felt like she really cared. She represents City Winery very well.

The best part was the river view. You can also enjoy drinks next to the heater at the outside bar, have a nice time and save a ton of money!

City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk
Responded on April 4, 2019

SteakNPotatoesGrl, I have sent you a private message regarding your sub par experience in one of our river domes, and look forward to connecting with you soon. Cassidy Service Director

Report
Helpful
T
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on March 25, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

We had dinner in one of the domes. It was great but it was too pricey! I think the $25 per person plus a $60 per person minimum is too much!

City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk
Responded on March 27, 2019

Greetings Tracy, Thank you for your positive review and constructive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time and I will be sure to forward your feedback along for our management staff to review. We will certainly hope to host you again sometime soon - perhaps under the summer sun! Cassidy Service Director

Report
Helpful
K
1 review
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a wonderful time enjoying a dome at the Riverwalk!! The food was excellent, and the staff members were friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this experience!

City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk
Responded on March 29, 2019

Katie, Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled you had a great time and hope you'll join us again soon - either on our patio this summer, back in the domes next fall or both! Cheers, Cassidy Service Director

Report
Helpful
SB
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A very enjoyable afternoon on the river. Good food, great service and terrific wine. We will be back.

City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk
Responded on March 25, 2019

Thank you for your kind review, ScottB. We will look forward to hosting you again soon! Cassidy Service Director

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on December 16, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 2

Me and my girlfriends came here for our annual Christmas party together. We had a reservation for 7:30 and once we got there I was a little confused on where to go but a gentleman showed us to our igloo. The minute we entered it reeked of marijuana (smoke) and the little windows were open to ventilate the smoke out I’m guessing. Then we proceeded to sit there and wait until 8 o clock when our server finally arrived saying that we needed to bear with him because he had 15 igloos he was taking care of and he was running back and forth and once we asked about the smoke smell, he stated that someone from off the river came up into the igloo and was smoking inside? Mind you, we have to pay a $25/person reservation fee for the igloo. Why would you ever say that to a customer?After all that, we ordered starters and a large bottle of wine. Our starters came and the bottle of wine. Fast forward about another 45 minutes and he still didn’t come back, mind you we had a minimum spending amount we had to reach and weren’t even close to that at this point. Finally he comes and we order basically everything else we wanted for the night because we were only slotted 2.5 hours. The rest of the food gets brought back and then about 10 minutes later our waiter comes in with the bill and says we need to “wrap up” because our time is ending. WE JUST GOT OUR FOOD TEN MINUTES AGO. I confirm that we had 2.5 hours reserved and that our reservation started at 7:30 and he didn’t come in until 8pm for us to order anything at all. He gets flustered and then says that I am correct. I asked him if we had met the minimum and he said yes you spent $254 just a little above our minimum but then when he left the bill it’s was $407! Honestly, the worst dining experience I’ve ever had in my life. I can’t believe we actually had to pay a $25 rental fee per person for that. None of us will ever go back there again. I wouldn’t recommend this experience to anyone.

Report
Helpful
P
Chicago
10 reviews
Dined on December 14, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had so much fun in the dome! The service was great and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
LM
Chicago
1 review
Dined on December 14, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We loved our afternoon in the City Winery Dome! With views of Marina City and the river, our Dome provided the perfect Riverwalk experience - in December! The food and wine were delicious. A service hiccup was handled graciously and generously and included a personal apology from the manager. Our group of 6 can’t wait to return.

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on December 12, 2018
Overall 4food 2service 5ambience 3

The City Winery dome was fun to do once, but I doubt I would do it again because of the price. The service was very good however - you get a couple glasses of something as soon as you walk in, and they check on you a lot. They even provide new socks so you can walk around without your shoes.

Report
Helpful
L
Chicago
20 reviews
Dined on December 11, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had lunch at the Riverwalk domes in the winter time. Loved how it was set up! Very nice experience! You have to order a lot of things to meet your $60 minimum per person so keep that in mind! We ordered lots of food!

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on December 10, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

We had dinner in the heated domes

Report
Helpful
SG
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on December 10, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

very fun. we sat in one of the igloos.
an excellent place for day drinking!

Report
Helpful
TR
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

The service was great!! The food menu was limited. The alcohol menu was plentiful. The prices for the food and drinks were reasonable. I didn't like the $25 per person reservation fee for the domes, although I do understand why they had them. The face that we were required to spend $60 per person while we dined in the dome made this cost prohibitive for me. The price for two of us to eat ended up being $175 before the tip. I find that to be exorbitant. It was a lovely experience that I wouldn't do again because of the price.

Report
Helpful
CT
Dallas
6 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Reservation for 1230. Had to wait to get seated, but our reservation time didn’t get extended on the back end. When you’re paying for 2.5 hours that’s what I expect to get. The ambiance was of course lovely. Service a bit slow. Food was good. Unique way to get outside in the middle of winter. Price reasonable.

Report
Helpful
L
Chicago
11 reviews
Dined on December 6, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

I don’t write many reviews on here......but I felt that there were enough poor ones I had to. This bubble/dome is a cool and different way to head out with friends and drink wine/eat, do whatever. If you’re looking for the most economical way to do this, obviously don’t go here. But as a riverfront adventure....sure! They could charge a fee per dome instead of per person in my opinion. We had good wine and apps, very nice server. We stayed warm the whole time w 2 space heaters except our feet towards the end. Play cards, play music, all acceptable. So wear some uggs or put on the provided extra socks.

Report
Helpful
AD
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on December 5, 2018
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Great views from the igloo and it was beautiful to watch the sunset. Although the food was just okay, the wine list and ambiance are to die for. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
MD
Chicago
13 reviews
Dined on December 4, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

We had an excellent time sitting in the bubble at City Winery on the Riverfront. There were 4 of us and we really enjoyed the whole experience. It was warm enough even in the December cold. There are games and blue tooth speakers available to keep you entertained in between the food and drinks.

There aren't that many food options but we just wanted appetizers and drinks so we were plenty satisfied with the options and quality of the food.

Would highly recommend it for a special occasion or fun evening out with friends.

Report
Helpful
AZ
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on December 4, 2018
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

We booked a dome, and it was such a unique experience. The dome was well insulated, and quite warm and gave us a nice view of the city. Service and drinks were great! Food was good, but nothing special. It was a fun time and I would recommend to anyone looking for a different experience for drinks and socializing with friends!

Report
Helpful
CT
Richmond
3 reviews
Dined on December 3, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I have been wanting to take advantage of the City Winery Domes for awhile, and was thrilled to get a reservation. The food was pretty good, and the atmosphere is obviously great. However it is very expensive once you take into account the reservation fee and the food minimum. Certainly worth it for the experience, but you're going to spend a lot. In addition, the domes are nice- with blankets, bluetooth, and heaters, but they are not well insulated. My friends and I were actually really cold.

Report
Helpful
H
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on December 3, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 4

The food in the dome was surprisingly poor and not warm for the amount of money we spent. The dessert was a joke.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on December 3, 2018
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 5

Excellent service very attentive

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on December 1, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Osiris is amazing and so personable, made our DOME experience extra special and entertaining. Atmosphere was up to par and food quality exceptional.
Do recommend this experience!

Report
Helpful
LS
1 review
Dined on December 1, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

We love the concept of the domes, warm enough, plenty of room for8, fun. We enjoyed the food, drinks, playing cards. Our waiter started out good, but then seemed to be annoyed & short with us. Did we ask too many questions?! When we were ready to wrap things up, we were then told we still had credit available. We were offered to take food to go. Why didn't someone ask us earlier how we were doing & let us know that we still had credit to use?! The only other problem was because of a the rain, the carpet was wet. Loved the idea of the socks, but didn't want our feet wet! About half of us said we would do it again, the others said it was fun, but probably a one time deal due to cost.

Report
Helpful
AS
1 review
Dined on December 1, 2018
Overall 3food 1service 3ambience 5

The ambiance was great but the food wasn’t good. Both of our entrees were cold. My husband ordered the pork chop which was super dry and I ordered the sea bass. I ended having to remove multiple pin bones as I was trying to eat my dinner. $10 for the s’mores dessert was ridiculous, it definitely wasn’t worth the money and looked like it was thrown on a plate.
The domes were fun and I’m glad we went but not sure the money for the food was worth it. Kind of disappointed, not sure we’ll be back.

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on December 1, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Me and my wife had a great time. Service was great, cheese platter and food was fantastic. Great wine and setting! Loved the board games as well. Definitely will recommend to others and do again next year!

Report
Helpful
SS
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on November 30, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Had to try one of the domes. The experience was very cool and one of a kind. The service was good. Unfortunately the food was underwhelming both in variety and taste. The menu was very, very limited. Cocktails were just ok. Come for the cool experience but don’t expect much beyond that.

Report
Helpful
v
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on November 29, 2018
Overall 3food 1service 5ambience 4

Super expensive for the service they offer. Food is .... limited. Construction on the bridge is extremely noisy. And then again - expensive. 3 ladies 2 btlnof wine 1 shared salad 1 shared side 1 shared meal + rent and tip- $600
But i will go again.

City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk
Responded on December 1, 2018

Vladimir, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are aware the city's bridge construction is less than favorable, and will continue to work with the city in the hopes of minimizing this as much as possible. I am thrilled you booked a second reservation with us, and know that Taylor is looking forward to serving you a second river dome experience next week. If you have specific ideas as to what you'd like to see on our menu, please share! Cheers, Cassidy cassidy@citywinery

Report
Helpful
AA
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

We were 4 couples in a River Dome and we had an amazing time! So nice to be in a warm bubble on the river on a cold day! Great experience. A must do!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything was wonderful! We had the best time. Our server Nick was helpful and attentive. He made ordering easy, and had things cut so they were very shareable. Will definitely do it again!

Report
Helpful
l
Chicago
17 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

This review is an update from one posted Nov. 2018. First and foremost, I must mention Cassidy Fletcher, Service Director. She immediately responded to my review and encouraged my friends & I to give The Domes another try as she would diligently work to make the next visit more enjoyable. And did she deliver! We walked into a cozy, well lit, tastefully decorated, sufficiently heated Dome, add games, blue tooth speaker and the incredible city views to round out the pleasant ambiance. Cassidy personally visited us to confirm we were comfortable & content. What a rare person who actually cares and responds that thoroughly! Nick, our server, was attentive and very knowledgeable. The olive tampenade in The Schmear Plate was a salty delight when spread on scrumptious rosemary crackers. The Cheese Panini blend of cheddar, apple butter & sun dried tomato tasted amazing. The City Winery Pinot Noir Reserve was so smooth and delightful. But the star of the evening was Cassidy. She listens, she cares, she fixes! What more would I want from any business. Kudos to City Winery for hiring such an exemplary employee.

Report
Helpful
S
Chicago
12 reviews
Dined on November 27, 2018
Overall 1food 2service 2ambience 1

Don't go to the Igloos here. Not warm enough and furniture not comfy.

Report
Helpful
MA
1 review
Dined on November 25, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Our server Osirus was awesome, both him and Christian made our experience. The food was great, though I would have preferred a few more options. As far as Value, you are paying for the experience. It was fun to do once, but I wouldn't spend that again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by City Winery Chicago at the Riverwalk